Why we “RUN” away?

Have you ever thought what’s the point? Who would even notice if I was gone from this city? Who would even care to call me? Would my family even bother looking for me? Is it worth the adventure? Between 1.6-2.8 million youth run away from home each year just in the United States alone There are countless reasons why youth nowadays run away from their home. For example: violence in the family, the division of a family, death, problems at school, and even trying to look/act cool; this is just to name a few. There are so many youth in our surrounding area that have run away at least once, you just probably never knew. Most youth will find a place to stay whether it is another family member or a friends house, but sometimes they can be ending up living on the streets. Writing this right now reminds me of the times when I was a little girl and I would get in fights with my parents. I would yell at them and tell them I was moving out to go live with my grandma, I would always end up changing my mind at the end. I think it is so tragic that this is such a big problem in our communities but yet we still do nothing about it. There is not really a shelter for these kids where they can have a place to live and get food so they can survive. The only places we really have are Community service programs. I think this is absolutely insane.giphy1

I think Holden Caulfield is a great example of a runaway youth. Even though he might’ve not ran away from his house he still sort of ran away. Without telling anyone he ran away from his school, even though he was already kind of kicked out. He didn’t even bother telling his parents anything that happened because he didn’t want to deal with that kind of thing. He didn’t bother telling his roommates because he didn’t want to have to explain himself. On his own he was able to get to New York, get a hotel room, and support himself even if it was just for a couple days. He was a dependent runaway.

“Sometimes I feel like running away is the only way.”

Personally, I don’t think I would ever be able to run away on my own. There are so many ways I could support myself through it by finding free clothing, food, and even shelter by staying with my friends. Even though I am somewhat of an independent person, I still lean on my parents for certain things. Without them I wouldn’t have money for gas, for food, and I wouldn’t even have someone to tell me the right from the wrong. I don’t think running away always has to be from our own home. I feel like sometimes people run away from their feelings. They run away from their problems. They run away from their own goals. The list is endless and of course depends on the person. It is very easy to see signs of teens running away from things due to depression, anxiety, and bullying. Although there are bad things to run away from there are also good things to run away from. For instance, an unhealthy relationship or friendship, your own failures, and your old self that you have evolved from tremendously.

Leave a Reply

