Play Date

giphy1

You never hear the word “play” used in the right context anymore. Its always play with your dog, you have a football game to play, or press play on a video or music. Most children nowadays would a think that these three statements show the true definition of what play means. But really, play is when you participate in activity for enjoyment and recreation instead of doing it for a serious or practical reason. Since todays day and age has a whole new look on what the word “play” means, I decided to go onto Google and just type in play. Here are a list of a few things that came up: Google play, online games, a play button(images), audio play, and theater plays. The crazy thing to me is that the definition of play has not changed in many years, it is just the way we are used to interpreting it that has been changed.

“My childhood may be over, but that doesn’t mean playtime is.”-Ron Olson

For my day of play I decided to have a board game night with my family. With the crazy schedules the three of us have it was almost impossible to find a time to have the road age night. Luckily we were able to find a night to do it. We played many different games such as Monopoly, Sorry, Twister, Checkers, Mancala, and Uno. I think Monopoly was my favorite out of all of them because the game lasts for a very long time and there are many different strategies to play the game. As most people know there is always that competitive person in the family, this person being my brother. My brother is such a sore loser and will not want to finish the game if he knows that he is probably going to lose. So like the good older sister I am, I made sure that he won almost every single time. Of course, maybe this isn’t the best life lesson to teach someone but if it’s the only way you can get someone to not go insane on you, then I think it is pretty well worth it. I am so glad that I got to experience this kind of play again, since I haven’t been able to experience it for quite a while.

When I was a little girl I would go outside everyday after school and play with all my neighbors. In my neighborhood we had a really good group of kids who were practically one big family. One thing I remember doing with them was reanacting movies that we used to love watching. Two of our favorites were The Cheetah Girls and Bratz. We would all be a different character and memorize our lines, we had different dances that we choreographed, and we would perform it for all of out neighbors to watch. Another thing we always would do was roller-skate all over the neighborhood. We would use jumprope’s as rope so we could pull the one person that didn’t have their skates or just didn’t want to skate that day. Overall we just loved being outside and playing games. A couple of my neighbors were a few years older then the rest of us, once they hit middle school the extra curricular’s and homework load made it so that they had even less time to play outdoors with us. I think this is the point in my life where the definition of play started to change for me. It was no more about using your imagination or creating something, it was about rules of a sport and listening to music or videos just so I could get through with my homework.

summertree-2summertree-3summertree-1

I think schools should enforce play more often. I think National Day of Play is something all teachers should take part in especially in the lower grade, such as K though 8th. #GSPD2017 shows that kids will respond better if they are able to get a little bit more freedom in the way that they work. I think that without play we would be living in a society that doesn’t know how to have any fun. Play not only teaches you how to work well with other but it also teaches you how to have and use your imagination. Studies have shown that the more play a child has the less likely they are going to have depression or anxiety when they are older. Also children that play when they are young are more likely to have higher grades because they are able to be more creative and focus on the task at hand. We should not be teaching kids how to use a smartphone or tablet at an early age because that is not how you develop your imagination, we should be teaching kids that they should go and find something to play with not something to play on. Here I have linked 5 reasons why kids should play more. Please take a second to check out the link. I believe that this is something we should spread around not only to our whole campus but also the grade schools around our area. This would be a great way for kids to look forward to going to school and to get more participation. No one should ever stop playing.

kids_playing_outside

Leave a Reply

